Poets logo

My Body is a Temple

A Messy Souls Poem

By Brittany FenwickPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My body is a temple, my eyes are the door.

Watch where you step, there are cracks in my floor.

My body is a temple, my soul is the key.

Melted the shape, kept others from me.

My body is a temple, my windows pulled shut.

They say I lose value the moment I’m touched.

My body is a temple, my spirit was crushed.

Curiosity and joy turned rubble and dust.

My body is a temple, not mine to control.

My thoughts are so lonely, not one hand to hold.

My body is a temple, I may not colour in.

The man on my stage dictates it as sin.

My body is a temple, my heart is in ruins.

If they see the decay, they’ll just find a new one.

My body is a temple, my mouth says no more.

I stole back the key, I opened the doors.

My body is a temple, it needs some repairs.

I’ll paint all the walls, no sign you were there.

My body is my temple, I’ll do as I wish.

You’re not needed here, you are dismissed.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Brittany Fenwick

Hello! I'm an Aussie, creative, middle-child with ADHD. Passionate about music and poetry, but incapable of staying in one lane. "Jack of all trades, but a master of none", wanna go on an adventure?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.