Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My beautiful (im)perfect body

My beautiful distorted mind

By Jess SPublished 26 days ago 2 min read
My beautiful (im)perfect body
Photo by Eugenia Maximova on Unsplash

This body stands, I, myself stand in front of the mirror.

Once again I cannot look away.

Not because I like what I see. But because it could be better.

***

My gaze flickers up and down in terror,

lingering on the wrongs and every single inch of error.

***

Unacceptable!

***

The lifelong struggle against this shape and build, its lasting tussle for self-approval followed by guilt, like an opponent in the boxing ring, is staring right back at me.

***

And it's angry.

It's cold, it's mean,

and it's taken over, taken its course, you see?

***

I cringe in revulsion at the look of it.

I take the image I see, twisting and turning it,

trying to make it fit.

***

I rip it apart and put it back together.

See how long it will last this time, before the sutures snap from the pressure.

***

I pick it up and toss it in the air.

I watch how it lands, I want to see it crash, weeping in despair.

***

I seek so hard to deny the beauty it could present.

The beauty I could shine with.

I hiss ‘I hate you’, then cover it up, before tending to another myth.

***

I sneak past it for the remaining day without paying it any more attention.

Disregarded, uncherished, unnoticed, unmentioned.

The damage has been done. Mission accomplished for today.

What fun!

***

Until tomorrow when I, once again, have to disrobe, uncover my nemesis, and do it all over again.

…similar to marking off a task on a to-do list, ticking off ‘Have you caused yourself some pain yet?’

***

As I am lying in bed that night, torn between heavy and light, I twist my thumbs, not feeling right.

Maybe tomorrow won't be so bad.

Right?

Maybe tomorrow my reflection will be near to perfection?!

***

Acceptable!

***

Or maybe I will just be kind to myself! Yes, that's it. I could give it a go!

But before doubt could cease, I chuckle/cry myself to sleep.

Kudos to that joke. It's a good one!

Cause, that would be simply…

…unacceptable!

***

This unspoken, suppressed, ever so hurtful battle is only and solely mine, concealed from society, camouflaged by trained indestructibility, inexhaustibility, and felicity.

What irony!

***

It's me against perception, perception against perfection.

***

It is the silent enemy I daily fight, yet I obey and embrace it as if it is my knight.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryRequest FeedbackMental HealthinspirationalGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

Jess S

One day I will be myself again,

and this darkness might come to an end,

and all doubt will cease,

and all strength will rise.

One day my tainted memories will be left behind,

and I will be able to see the world through a clear lens.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran25 days ago

    This was so poignant, intense and relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Christy Munson26 days ago

    Powerfully written poem that breaks my heart. The struggle with self-love and bodily love is real, and your narrator's voice rips at the seams. I especially felt the knock of these words: "before tending to another myth". Great writing.

Jess SWritten by Jess S

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.