Poets logo

My Autumn

When autumn came to your town, I came back

By Heather HagyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1

When autumn came to Springhill,

fallen leaves turned the colors

of harvest-time pumpkins

and ripe golden pears.

The trees stood naked and dry,

and the evening chill arrived

a little sooner each night.

When autumn came to your town,

I came back.

***************

I went to your door,

heard singing and laughing.

I thought it was the wind,

and I cursed the season.

The last blazing rays

of late September sun

lit up your front porch.

The brightness hurt my eyes;

I suddenly wanted to turn away.

I rang your doorbell instead,

exhaling softly as the door opened.

Your blue eyes stared

from the face of a tiny blonde being.

I felt the world wither around me,

wished the ground would swallow me,

and then you were there.

But your smile,

it didn’t matter anymore.

***************

Autumn came to Springhill,

and the crows rejoiced

as the green fields faded

and garden flowers grew tired.

Summer lovers parted

while crickets mourned.

Autumn came,

and I didn’t look back.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Heather Hagy

Stephen King fan (but not like Annie "I'm your #1 fan" Wilkes cuz I'm sane and she's not)

Horror/supernatural are my favorite writing genres

Wife to 1 and mom to 4 humans, 4 dogs, 6 cats, and a dragon

"Jaws" is the greatest movie ever

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.