Poets logo

Music

Soothing Sounds To Save The Savage Beast

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Music
Photo by Natalie Cardona on Unsplash

A collection of dusty vinyls,

a variety of different styles.

Escaping from the worries of the day.

No one’s gonna reach me-in this world that music made,

in a low-lit room designed to get away.

By Yura Khomitskyi on Unsplash

Rhythmic beats in time open a peaceful passageway,

as I deliberately drop the needle in the groove, much like a vein.

Spinning like a top, the speakers crackle moan and pop,

the record player now-more like a time machine.

*

A glass sweats on the floor, next to a candles flickering flame,

the music brings me freedom from a paper sleeve.

The melody transports me to another place and time,

as the music swells, the sax sings just for me.

*

Voices mingle wildly, in a vocal wrestling match,

playful harmonies, make me feel so alive.

Moods now rearranged, comfort reveals a simple smile,

as I await another lovely ride.

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Yes!! Music is such a comfort, and you captured that so wonderfully :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Definitely find comfort in music. Great piece.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Wonderful imagery! I have a lot of great memories that are associated with music.

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    Got to love that imagery!

  • I love music and I totally agree that they're like a tike machine. Every songs reminds us of something in the past, like a person, an incident or something. This was such a wonderful poem!

  • I am a music junkie... A music aficionado... A music music music... Thank you for sharing this. I enjoyed it.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Time & music is all you need to get comfortable!!! Splendid 👏💖😊💕

  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    Loved this. I, too, love a good song. Music is like a drug, or spell, that just envelopes you and doesn't let go. Great poem!

  • This is a wonderful poem, great words and I love listening to music

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.