Poets logo

MurderVerse

Leave the kid with me.

By David ParhamPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Deric on Unsplash

I was just a kid, twelve maybe

when she led me down the rabbit hole

into the MurderVerse.

The nice lady who lives three doors down,

Gina's mom,

Maxine.

She gave me envelopes with messages and cash inside.

"Take this to Mr. Leonetti, he's expecting you."

Leonetti opens the door, says thanks,

grabs the envelope.

The inside of his house smelled like sausage, peppers, onions

Leonetti smiles, "Ma's making sausages and peppers, you want some?"

"No thank you, Mr. Leonetti."

"Next week's chicken soup, you'll love it."

I jump off his stoop and run.

Maxine gives me five dollars for delivering.

She lights a Newport and blows smoke,

"Come back Thursday."

"Next Thursday?"

"Yeah, next Thursday, what did I say?

"Next Thursday."

"Right. And Johnny, never go inside that man's house even if he invites

you in."

"Okay."

Thursday

Another envelope

"Anybody asks you anything tell them your running errands for Max."

Leonetti opens the door, "thanks kid," grabs the envelope.

The inside of his house smells like weed.

Leonetti rubs his hands together, laughs. "Ma's gone today we can..."

I jump off his stoop before he finishes,

"I'm running errands for Max." I yell,

My words trail behind me.

Next Thursday

Gina asks if she can walk with me.

She's playing with her dolls in the front yard.

I don't care, it's just down the street

Me and Gina walk down to Leonetti's place.

Gina carries her newest doll, Libby.

Leonetti opens his door.

"Well, don't you three look like a happy little family."

Leonetti is leering at us, especially Gina.

I hold out the envelope,

he ignores it, continues staring at Gina.

"Leave the kid with me."

"Here's the envelope, Mr. Leonetti."

"You two come in, I got weed."

"I can't I'm running errands for, Max."

"So leave the kid with me."

"No."

I jump down off his stoop, grab Gina's hand,

We run

All the way back to Maxine's,

Gina's mom.

Max lights a Newport, takes a drag, and blows smoke.

Her hands are shaking,

She's pissed.

She's scared.

"Never take Gina with you, do you hear me?"

I didn't think there was any harm in just walking down the street.

"Did you let her go inside that man's house?"

She stood on the sidewalk while I delivered the envelope.

"The inside of his house smelled like weed."

Max hands me ten bucks.

"Thanks for bringing her back safe, Johnny."

She gives me a hug.

"Sure thing, Maxine."

"Next Thursday?"

"Call me next month, kid."

"Thank you, Johnny." Says Gina.

"Give Johnny a hug sweetheart."

Max pushes Gina toward me.

We embrace.

It's awkward.

***

Two weeks later

Walking to school past Leonetti's place.

Cop cars and emergency vehicles are parked in the street.

There's a fat black bag strapped to a stretcher

EMT's load it into a long black station wagon marked, Coroner

Lucky comes walking up.

"Hey, Luck."

"Hey, Johnny."

"What happened?"

Lucky smiles, "Maxine killed him."

"Yeah But? I just saw him last week."

Luck shrugs, "He got the Max."

"No way," I said in disbelief. "She wouldn't..."

"Wanna bet," says Luck.

The coroner's car pulled away

Case closed for now.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.