Poets logo

Mountaintops

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Mountaintops
Photo by Aleksandar Jason on Unsplash

I have climbed this mountain so long,

I can no longer see the ground.

The skies seem to far,

and yet I can imagine

my fingertips in the clouds.

There's snow on the top,

I can feel the chill

And nearly taste

snowflakes on my tongue.

There are monsters

in the caves,

they growl

and claw for my flesh.

Every step

the mountaintop grows further.

Every moment

ticks by at its slowest.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoy this poem, feel free to subscribe to me here at vocal for more of my work. Tips are always appreciated, thanks!

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.