Poets logo

Motivation or a Lack of it

Was this made with a lack of motivation? Or with motivation taken into consideration? You'll never know...you can only speculate and draw your own conclusions.

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8

Do you ever just look at someone's writing and think...

"Why didn't I think of that?"

Or maybe even a...

"Wow, that's actually genius and clever. I wish I thought of that."

Then you start to realize,

Everything you can think of has already been done before?

The sappy love stories,

The common cliches,

Aliens? Yep, we need this,

How about a poem to symbolize your non-existent love life?

Nah, that's been done before.

Break-ups and heartbreaks?

That's been done.

I have these moments.

I'm sure you have them too.

I've always thought to myself,

"Hey, this idea seems cool! Let's push it further."

But if I push that idea too far...

And it overlaps into an already existing idea.

Because of my age...

...or my childish appearance...

The media will assume I'm just copying.

Hence why I try to branch out...

Expand my horizons,

Expand my ideas,

Increase my vocabulary...

And let my mind take the wheel.

My fingers do what my mind says,

Not what my eyes say.

What my blind eyes see...

...is different from my visionary mind...

They're from different realities.

...only coming together through writing.

I'm aware, I'm not perfect.

Neither is my writing.

I just write, write, write,

Hoping one day...

I'd be recognized for my talent.

My choice of topics may not be for everyone,

That's okay!

We're all human,

We're not supposed to be identical copies of one another.

We're allowed to have different tastes,

Some of our interests collide...

...and we're able to relate to one another.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.