Poets logo

Mother

Mother I've left for the circus.

By Jen Parkhill “JP”Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photography by Adam Coleman

mother, I’ve left for the circus.

mother, I won’t be home

when supper is ready, the sound

of the cow bell, the porch light left on.

mother, I won’t be back

to tend to the garden.

I won’t collect the eggs from the hens.

mother, I will not be home again.

mother, I’ve left with with the circus.

mother, I’ve lost my thumbs.

mother, I’ve burned my bridges.

when the circus calls, one must come.

I spend my days sweating in trapeze tents.

I sit with the lions and tickle their gums.

I don’t have favorites but if I did,

the sharp-teethed, they’d be the ones.

mother, I feel best in the lamp light.

mother, I’m best outside the drawers.

mother, I’m best amongst the bearded ladies,

camp fires, clowns, and whores.

curl a palm around bent faces

feel lives beating inside drums

steady as a ship through night,

hands pulled my pocket, said, come.

mother, I’ve run off with the circus.

mother, I’m not coming home.

mother, I’ll rest my head on train cars.

not to worry, I’m not alone.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jen Parkhill “JP”

Jen Parkhill “JP”, a first generation Cuban-American artist and proud member of the LGBTQIA+ community. Cat dad, writer, filmmaker, actor, friend, and graduate of the Tisch School of the Arts, NYU.

Hurling through time.

@jenparkhill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.