Poets logo

Most Days

I'm determined to live the life that's meant for me

By Libby CannonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

Some days I think I can do it

Hike to the top of the mountain

Some days it's so unachievable, I want to rage as angrily as the volcanoes

Some days I want to dance

Like the leaves as they circle with the breeze

Some days I want to stand in my future

Become that higher version of me

Some days I have to question

Why it took so long to listen

To who she is and what she wants

But not everything is a lesson

Some days I have to be brave

Because my fear has come out to play

Some days I want to hide

But I've spent all my life hiding away

Most days I want to scream

To stand at the top of a mountain and be heard by the valley and trees

Most days I want to speak

To be heard by millions of people and to know that I'm being seen

Most days I want to use my voice

It was given to me for a reason

Most days I want to have an impact

Work my way up through all of the seasons

There are some things not meant for me

It's a waste of life I should be living

How can I sit in an office chair

When I should be speaking and writing and giving

I think I have a gift

I can see into the soul of another

How can I allow this gift to sit

When I can instead share it with others?

There are some things I'm not meant to do

They just don't expand my soul and spirit

I only have one life to live

It will not be a life that's wasted

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Libby Cannon

I spend a lot of time writing poetry and short essays on freedom, mental health, societal structures, feminism, and philosophy. Writing is how I process my thoughts and I hope what I share resonates with you :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.