Poets logo

No Cookie Jar

poem of my favorite snack

By Shelby R PerezPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
2

Pop the lid or cut the wrapping paper.

Inside is chocolate chip gooie goodness.

A yellow canvas adorned in dark jewels.

I use my fingers to break it, tear it,

scoop up the sweet dough.

A little goes onto the sheet and into the oven;

a little goes into my watering maw.

Sugar, salt, and milk chocolate, melted

gold and obsidian dance along my tongue.

Baked to solid warmth, cooled to sweetness.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Shelby R Perez

I am a college student and lover/writer of fiction and poetry, especially Fairytails and mythology. I am working to become a published author, using my love for myths and legends to reintroduce gods, spirits, demons and heroes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani23 days ago

    Ok, I need a cookie now. Haha. Lovely writing!

  • Mmmm, now I'm craving for them! Lol. Loved your yummy poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.