Poets logo

More than the sum of my scars

The body of the tale

By Deb SimmondsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
More than the sum of my scars
Photo by Eugene Chystiakov on Unsplash

One scar, two scar, three scar, four

What's another cut; another slice more?

Inside hip and outside thigh

One look in the mirror and my skin makes me cry

My breasts crease the lines of vanities knife

The first surgical change to 'improve' my life

After there onwards the scalpels flash fast,

Not the egoic reaching for a beauty long past

Rerouting and saving and trying to heal

a sad bodies' nerve endings too cut up to feel.

Donors and poisons now float in my streams

thick and angry make my leg ready to burst at the seams

One scar, two scar, three scar, four

What's another cut; another slice more?

Each mark is a call, every wound, each of the nicks

are visible sign of the bits they can fix.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Deb Simmonds

Creative writer. Women led stories. Crime, dark comedy, lesfic novels and short stories. Poems when the mood takes me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.