Poets logo

Copper Pennies and Honey

A lovers gift

By Deb SimmondsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Copper Pennies and Honey
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

We dance to a symphony of breath and sighs

My fingers trace the curve of your waist over your soft cotton shirt

nails grazing and scraping at the exposed skin above your hip as you lift your arms

I push my palms against you and squeeze,

I know I'm leaving marks where my fingers dig in but I can't help it.

excitement and anticipation flood my system

even as arousal heats my core

The soft kisses we've shared grow feverish with need

I need more,

I need to feel more,

More of your soft skin,

Your shirt slips up easily with my guidance

The pads of my thumbs smooth along your the stomach

counting every rib as glide up

The swells of your breasts invite my cupping hands

I leave a trail of bite marks from your ear to your neck

to your collar bone.

Pushing you back I feel predatory

but the smile teasing your lips lets me know it's what you want too

I tug on your jeans,

fumbling with the fly as I try to remove the tight denim from your sharp hip bones

Your thighs don't tremble

You're too composed for that

My stomach fills with butterflies and I need you

I lower myself down and kiss your skin

My tongue blazes a hot path to wear I know you need me most

I drown in you,

In copper pennies and honey.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Deb Simmonds

Creative writer. Women led stories. Crime, dark comedy, lesfic novels and short stories. Poems when the mood takes me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.