Poets logo

Monster You Made

Son, Monster?

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
By David Gomes

Dad, you trained me to be a monster, shaping my soul with your callous hands. You taught me to mirror your darkest self, to walk the path where no light stands.

You molded me in your image, cold and cruel, instructed me in the art of disdain. Each lesson was a scar, each word a blade, carving my heart, leaving me in pain.

You wanted a disciple, a shadow of you, a successor to carry your bitter flame. But when I surpassed you, became more fierce, you couldn't stand the loss, the shame.

I became the monster you dreamed of, a reflection of your twisted soul. Yet, in my eyes, you saw your downfall, a future you could no longer control.

I excelled in your dark teachings, mastered the craft of causing fear. But in the silence, I longed for love, for a father's embrace that was never near.

You hated that I outdid you, resented the monster I had become. For in my strength, you saw your weakness, In my rise, you saw your sun go numb.

I wanted to be your pride, your joy, but all I became was a source of regret. Your disappointment cut deeper than any wound, a betrayal I cannot forget.

Now I stand alone, a monster in the dark, your legacy etched in my broken heart. I wish I could turn back, find another way, but the path you set leaves me torn apart.

Dad, you trained me to be a monster, taught me to become you, through and through. but in this cold, lonely existence, I mourn the boy who never knew.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.