Poets logo

Monotony

Just started writing and let it flow - slightly organised random thoughts

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
8
Monotony
Photo by Joshua Newton on Unsplash

Do we need routines in life?

Going around the same circles forever with no exit in sight

Just the same droning thoughts of an android in place

Or a clone… living life how it should be done, according to society

From work back to home and the same thing again at dawn

Monotonous and numbing to the mind and soul

Crippling the existence of the creative and imaginary

Replaced with reality

-

When the mind releases the shackles, it explodes

Colourful lights spreading across the vast field of emptiness

Reviving long lost pieces of worthiness

That existed, veiled by the monotony

Besides formality, there is freedom

From the prescribed thought avenues to be in

From the circular conveyer belt that is society

-

The ouroboros of humanity

Survival feeding on vitality

Is it all worth it in the end? I can’t be sure

Is it easy to escape this trend? I can’t be sure

Will I ever climb up and vent? I can’t be sure

inspirationalsocial commentary
8

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Oh wow, I learned a new word today, ouroboros! Like I knew of that concept but didn't know the term for it. I loved your poem!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Excellent thoughts, well penned, Mohammed! I enjoyed the magic that happened when you let your thoughts flow!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is a wonderful stream of thought. And monotony os just exhausting. Well done.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Great stream of thought, Mohammed! Love when you just let the words take you! Very powerful imagery and your use of ouroboros was brilliant! These lines were just...so, so good: "When the mind releases the shackles, it explodes Colourful lights spreading across the vast field of emptiness" Bravo, my friend!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Also had to Google ouroboros but I did recognize it once I did! This was a cool one, Mohammed! I like the “slightly organized random” feel and it went with the subject!

  • Loved this! I always love being taught a new word too 😉 uroboros! Nice. Some really great flowing words and lines here… and overall message too…. Well done! More please 😉🥰😇

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.