Poets logo

Moments That Gone By

Spring..and then Winter.

By Min LPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels

It was Spring.

We were in an embrace by the riverbank.

The maple tree on the left.

The leaves a mix of yellow and green.

Neither of us spoke.

The words gone with the cold breeze.

In that instant my heart I knew, you will too.

The days were long.

But still Spring's gone.

Then Summer came along.

I stood on that very spot at the riverbank.

All alone.

The maple tree has grown

Its leaves were bright with green.

The tree flourishes, but my heart withers.

It was Autumn.

One evening, I took a stroll.

My legs led me back to the riverbank.

Before my eyes, shades of orange and red greeted me.

The maple tree in its final moment of glory

Against the pale blue sky and the green flowing river.

An orange leaf fell and landed on my feet.

I picked it up and left with it.

It is now Winter.

The first flake of snow fell,

And landed on my shoulder.

Walking towards the riverbank,

I stopped in my tracks.

Standing right by the maple tree,

I see you.

The warmth of my tears rolling down my cheeks.

I laughed.

The tree is now bare.

But you are back.

My heart blossoms as the tree withers.

The moments that gone by,

Draw you nearer back to me.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Min L

A dreamer who loves reading and writing and believes in love and pixie dust. Find little nuggets of hope in my stories. And the occasional fictions.

Medium: medium.com/@weardressdrinktea

IG: @weardressdrinktea

Twitter: @weardressdrinkt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.