Poets logo

Break Out of Your Box

Be free.

By Min LPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
6
Photo by Ante Hamersmit on Unsplash

Lying on the bed eyes wide opened,

thoughts running wild in my mind.

Tired and drained,

every cells in my brain and every part of my body,

willed me to sleep.

Stuck in a rut,

I’m stuck in a rut.

Like a lyric playing on repeat in my mind.

----

Lately I have been feeling a little out of sorts.

It got me pretty annoyed with myself.

“I need to disconnect!” — my inner self demanded.

I felt trapped.

Like a hamster running in the wheel, I am trapped in a box where I see myself in a cycle I could not break away.

I was in the shower and pondering about this rut and it dawned on me:

What if this box is something I allowed myself to be trapped in?

*cues lightbulb lighting*

From Mondays to Sundays — day in and day out, week after week, we are subconsciously living a routine:

Waking up at a fixed time on the week days > Preparing the kids for school > Getting dressed for work > Going through the motion of work > Picking up the kids from school > Eating dinner > Preparing for bedtime > ….

Then here we go again, the next day and the next…

We are trapped inside a box called “routine”.

Perhaps we were the ones who willingly trap ourselves in.

----

Are you allowing yourself to be trapped in this box too?

Its time to break free.

----

If you have made it here and have enjoyed the article, consider supporting me by dropping me a heart or even sending me a tip!

If you would like to play a part in being my fairy and making my dreams come true, I invite you to buy me a cup of Coffee. Any support is greatly appreciated.

Better yet, check out some of my other writing which includes,An Endless Possibilites, A Dream, A Flame, and Bloom.

If you would like to stay in touch, I have recently set up a Facebook Page where you can engage with me.

I can also be found on Medium, Twitter and Instagram. I look forward to meeting with all of you.

A million heartfelt thank you! ❤

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Min L

A dreamer who loves reading and writing and believes in love and pixie dust. Find little nuggets of hope in my stories. And the occasional fictions.

Medium: medium.com/@weardressdrinktea

IG: @weardressdrinktea

Twitter: @weardressdrinkt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.