Poets logo

Missing You

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Missing You
Photo by Lukas Rychvalsky on Unsplash

I’ll miss you more than you’ll ever know

Sitting here

Trying to reconcile

How you look at me with love

But your words

Make me feel reviled

Memories that will be cherished

But have to be filed away

Perhaps for a better day

I’ll miss you more than you’ll ever know

More than either of us will ever show

The way you looked at me

On that misty morning

Your eyes locked on mine

Mine on yours

I felt the wave crash around me

Locked in a bubble of time

Wondering

Was it all in my mind

Did you feel it too?

But I knew

I would get what I asked for

More time with you

The time we were missing

From a previous parallel life

Feeling each others pain

Feeling each others strife

Filling each other

With the best of parts of our life

Sitting here

Filled with regret

For getting what I asked for

Our lives

Intertwined

Now and forever

For all time

Not deja vu

But something we both know is true

There is no god

But Chaos

The chaos of the universe

That brought me back to you

The dream of my memories

With you

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • The Invisible Writer11 months ago

    Very good such an honest reflection really evoked so many emotions

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Has a very mystic feel. Beautiful ♥️

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Another beautiful poem! For some reason, your piece reminds me the song "Stay" by Hurts.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Eric, this was too sad!!! Left some love!!!♥️♥️💕

  • That inner struggle with no hope of overcoming, of eyes that want fighting with words designed to drive away. The utter hopelessness of longing, "I will miss you."

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.