Poets logo

Mirrors

Reflection of Self

By Obi AbassiPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You get up to look in the mirror

To see if you’re still here

But come to find fear

Looking back from within the mirror.

God and the Devil stand on your shoulders

Whispering into your ear

Seeing where your soul goes

Its all perfectly clear

I’m no longer here.

As vacant as the mind becomes

When you hear the sweet song strum

By malevolent phantoms that drum

To the beat of love and peace

It's the same sad song I hear

As the night rolls on, crumbling peace

I stop looking in the mirror

I start looking inside of me.

I'm trapped and I can't escape

The hell that stands in my wake

As I contemplate these waves

Hitting me in the face as I make

Way for a new dream to pave

But the new dreams fade

And I stay stuck in this place

Wishing for earthquakes

To break open the ground

So that I may go down

Back to my hometown

Deep in the underground catacombs

here I can be alone

Where I can be my own

Where I can be home

I’m tired of looking in the mirror

Seeing everything so clear

I’m tired of hiding behind these tears

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.