Poets logo

Mirror To Your Soul

The only way I would know how you feel

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
17
Mirror To Your Soul
Photo by Erik Eastman on Unsplash

Shadows hiding in darkness, the mirror to your soul

It is here, buried deeply, that the mystery conceals,

There is only one way for me to ever really know

Exactly what it is, that you really think or feel.

***

There is the darkness, reflections of your pain

It is in your eyes that I see the tales of gloom,

There are mysteries deep within your soul

Other impressions or maybe tales of doom.

***

Then again they always sparkle when you are playful

With cheeky mischief and surprise they will gleam,

At other times they will seem soft and faraway

As you get lost in your fantasy or dreams.

***

I wish to wander within their layers of depth

And take a long stroll throughout your mind,

To know of feelings such as worry or doubt

And I often wonder, at all that I would find.

***

While there I would take a peak within your past

See some of the sweet memories that linger on,

Discover the childish pranks and boyhood dreams

When life seemed perfect, nothing could go wrong.

***

I wonder if I asked, that within your loving soul

You could possibly find a special place for me,

A place where, during troubling or sad times

To where your thoughts would automatically flee.

***

Sadly I stay quiet, as I could never tell you my wish

You would unfairly judge me and call me a fool,

You see I know you don’t believe in weakness

And you detest it when emotions try to rule.

***

I’ll have to accept that you’ll never tell me how you feel

Understand that your wishes and dreams I’ll never find,

There is, for certain, only one way I could ever know

If I was to wander, through the mirrors of your mind.

******************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

love poems
17

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.