Poets logo

Dark Room

I had completely forgotten not only where I was, but also who I was - my name and even basic facts like the existence of mobile phones. It felt as if I had just woken up...

By spooky sessionPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

I had completely forgotten not only where I was, but also who I was - my name and even basic facts like the existence of mobile phones. It felt as if I had just woken up with no awareness or memories at all, which was amplified by being in a pitch black room.

After doing drugs earlier, I had gone to lay down around 10pm in my daughter's bedroom, as she was out with friends. For some reason when I awoke, I thought I was a truck driver at a truck stop, based on the bizarre conversations I was hearing. What I was actually hearing was The Office playing on the TV, but I had no idea at the time.

When I realized I didn't even know my own name, I became very frightened being in such darkness and unfamiliarity. For all I knew, I had just been born into another dimension. It took me about 5 minutes to recognize the theme music of The Office and realize what I was hearing was just a TV.

I thought I should get ready to drive and looked for my keys, which was the first concrete fact I could grasp onto in the sea of confusion. But I couldn't find any keys and still didn't know my name or where I was, though I somehow thought it was a truck stop.

In a moment of clarity, I yelled out for someone to bring me my phone. My son answered and just hearing his voice immediately brought back memories of him, Facebook, and my name. I was so relieved to have recognized his voice, which triggered remembrance of my phone, Facebook, and identity.

I quickly went and asked him where my wife was, still piecing together what had happened. For a long time after I couldn't stand hearing The Office, but now I'm a huge fan. However, those initial minutes alone and confused in the dark were truly frightening.

It took me a while to feel fully grounded again after that experience.

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakBlackoutart

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    That felt like a downward spiral. Loved it so much!

spooky sessionWritten by spooky session

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.