Poets logo

Mirror

If You Stare Into The Mirror Too Long, You See Everything That Appears To Be Wrong

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Mirror
Photo by Taras Chernus on Unsplash

Complimentary

opposites

But we are

just the same

Looking in

the eyes

of my

fraternal twin

Glass

between us

Metal

on one side

Light reflecting

all that's beautiful

but you scoff

at the flaws

I've shown you

everything

you need to be

You've shown me

everything

I need to keep

You need to grow

from the demons

you've swept

underneath

You need to grow

from the things

that you've

hid from all

to see

I need to hold

my love sacred

to my being

I need to hold

my love sacred

for only those who

appreciate it

Not all are

willing to grow

Not all are

willing to hold

However

I am willing

to accept my worth

and hold myself up

as the goddess

that I am

Are you willing

to accept your flaws?

To face yourself

as the human

that you are?

Are you willing

to grow beyond

the flesh on your bones?

I will not wait

to see

If the man

in the mirror

can change

his ways

I've waited

long enough

and my patience

is getting thin

I know my worth

is divine

and my love

is gold

I'm worth

every moment spent

every tear that rolled

My beautiful soul

is worth all the

ugly reflections

you've seen

in the physical realm

I'm worth

shedding all the judgments

that uphold your molds

It's not as hard

as it seems

to face the mirror

And say, "I'm sorry."

Maybe one day

you'll learn

Not to let

the sands of time

turn to glass

Wasting your time hating

your own reflection

instead of bathing

in the pristine waters

of your divinity

When you could have

time traveled to eternity

in our love time-machine

When you could have been

baptized in the ocean

of a goddess’ being

love poems
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.