Poets logo

Miranda's Eyes

A foster child's view

By Paul and Jordan AspenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Miranda's Eyes
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

When I met Miranda, I crouched down to her level

Looked into her eyes

And saw more than I could have imagined

Her eyes reflected fear and trust and desperation all at once

She clung to me with those eyes

Beautiful eyes

At night, eyes shut, she clung to me with her hands

Clung like her life depended on it

Maybe it did

I used to wonder what terrible things those eyes had seen

What made them wide with fear when I ran water for her bath

What made her shut them tight when I lit a candle

I still wonder

And I wonder something more

I wonder what her eyes are seeing now

Is she still blinded

By the pain and lies and betrayal she faced

All those things that blocked her way when I first saw her?

I pray Miranda has been healed

I pray the Savior has touched her eyes

I pray He has enabled those eyes to focus on His face

I pray they reflect fear infrequently

I pray they see trustworthy people all around

I pray they are now shut to desperation

And open to the Light

***

From the book my heart poured out by Jordan Aspen

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Paul and Jordan Aspen

Professionally, we help entrepreneurs get other people to sell for them through the power of social proof. Learn more at civanpro.com

Personally, we write... stories, poems, educational articles and more. Read more here on Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.