Poets logo

Mental Health Struggles

My journey with depression and schizoaffective disorder

By Reginah KaranjaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I once thought mental health was just a joke.

But then I found myself in the hospital, broke.

Medications, injections, therapists galore.

Counseling sessions, a never-ending chore.

Side effects leaving me worse than ever.

My mind and body, tethered together.

Depression and anxiety, my worst enemy.

Worry, breakdowns, and tears, a daily frenzy.

Suicidal thoughts, always on my mind.

But friends and family, so loving and kind.

Encourage me to push forward and never give up.

To fight this battle, like a champion, not a pup.

So I wake up each day with renewed expectations.

That this pain and darkness will end, no more frustrations.

I am not giving up, I will fight with all my might.

My mental health journey, a struggle, but I'll make it right.

I've learned to accept the ups and downs,

To embrace the good and let go of the frowns.

To find beauty in the simple things,

And cherish the joy that life brings.

I've discovered the power of self-care,

To take a break and breathe in fresh air.

To do things that bring me peace and calm,

And not feel guilty for taking time for a calm.

I've met others on a similar path,

Who understand the struggles of my past.

Together we share our stories and our pain,

And find solace in the fact that we're not alone in this game.

So now I speak out, and raise my voice,

To break the stigma and make a choice.

To fight for those who cannot speak,

And give them the courage to be weak.

For mental health is no laughing matter,

It's a journey that requires love and care.

But with support, we can overcome,

And live our lives, free from the burdens that weigh us down.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reginah Karanja

As someone who has experienced the challenges and triumphs of living Schizoaffective disorder, I offer a unique perspective that readers will find both relatable and inspiring.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Josephat Mainaabout a year ago

    Very insightful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.