Poets logo

Memory

Mine and yours

By Tarik MurrellPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Memory
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Dreams belong to me. They are my story, my experiences. Bound by rules only I can attempt to understand.

Memories belong to us. We are shaped by them, we shape the ones to come. We experience them over and over again. In glee and delight. Sweeter with time and more profound with age. Memories ripen under our shared gaze. Context fading and pleasure rising. Context is the cage that restricts. It limits, restrains the glee. The less of it we have the more fantastic the memory, the more ecstasy we allow the memory to drown us in. When we remember, we dream together.

Nightmares are the memories we belong to. The nightmare holds us hostage. It experiences us over and over again. It comes for us in shadow. It dims our light. The horror of a memory we share is our silence. A deluge of nothing that opens up when it visits all of us. Fibres in my neck become rope when your gaze marries the ground. We are bound.

I think of us this way. Lucid figments of shared Imagination. Us. Choosing to dream together and suffer together.

We decide to make memories, to make life how we want it , we become daydreamers. We shape the world around us. We , together, shift this bizarre dreamscape to our own will. We refuse to let the nightmares define us. We make the dreams we share.

inspirationalsurreal poetrynature poetryart
1

About the Creator

Tarik Murrell

A physicist learning to write.

I wrote a book! $10 and it's yours.

I want to eat from my writing. I feed it , so it can feed me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love to dream! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.