Poets logo

Memories Fade

A dream about recovering lost senses

By Claire JonesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
Memories Fade
Photo by Douglas Lopez on Unsplash

Last night I dreamt of my mother for the first time.

I can’t remember what she smelled like or hear her laughter in the air. Or what it felt like when she held me close to her. If I could remember, I’d miss seeing her eyes crinkle as she smiled and the sweet softness of the cookies that she baked.

Last night I dreamt of my mother for the first time.

I saw as I never had in life, healthy, vibrant, glowing. She smelled of lilacs on a summer breeze, her hug was warm and solid. Her strong voice comforting and proud.

Last night I dreamt of my mother for the first time.

I heard her say goodbye and felt cold tear drops on my eyes.

love poemssad poetry
4

About the Creator

Claire Jones

On a journey to find the right words.

Leave a like or a comment and I'll be happy to check out your work and return the favor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew12 months ago

    A lot of emotion for such a short story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.