Poets logo

Memorial Day

This is how it goes

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image of woman dancing

Sitting here in a coffee shop,

all the voices telling me bullshit,

not sure what to think,

feel wiped out from the last two weeks of hits.

Then I hear the songs from the loudspeaker -

songs about NYC,

songs about Valentine,

songs about being loved on a Sunday.

And my spirit lifts to heavens,

levitates to new heights,

And I feel like an angel.

This is how it goes.

I feel down,

I feel uncertain,

jaded on another holiday;

then I hear the songs from the loudspeaker -

songs about NYC,

songs about Valentine,

songs about being loved on a Sunday.

I make up a dance,

a choreograph to match the mood

in this hood.

This is how it goes.

I think, "Who am I today?"

I care.

I love,

I receive.

Pour into me

all the love I need

to make up for the last 5 years.

I am more than a vessel,

fuck.

I hear the songs from the loudspeaker -

songs about NYC,

songs about Valentine,

songs about being loved on a Sunday.

I now feel free as a bird,

free to roam this world

with my beloved

as I am meant to do.

This is how it goes.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.