Poets logo

Ma couleur préférée

What is your favorite color?

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Portrait of Picasso's "Old Guitarist'

Blue is my favorite color.

Blue is also the color of Iris,

my favorite flower.

Blue is the color I feel

when I hear about or

am reminded of all the injustices

women face because of our

gender,

especially victims and survivors of

gender-based violence.

Sky-blue was the color of shirt

I wore when I had my first kiss

at Stanford.

Blue was the color of the walls

of my old place

in the suburbs of Chicago

when I first found out

about the Coronovirus epidemic

ravaging the land.

Blue is one of the Taeguks or halves

of the center of

the Korean flag, symbolizing unity.

Blue precedes "House,"

words used to the describe the seat of power

in Seoul, Korea, the place of my birth.

Blue is reminiscent of the color

lavender, my second favorite color.

The color blue dances across the night sky

during the Northern Lights

in Sweden

when the sun doesn't rise

during the winter season.

Sky blue is the color of le ciel

which comforts and reassures me.

Blue is the color of the lounge chair

in this hotel room,

where I write this.

Blue is the color of Sula's, the heroin's, skin

in Toni Morrison's beloved

and timeless novel.

Blue is the color of hydrangea

which is perfect for spring days.

Blue is the color of my favorite

eyeshadow.

Faint blue is the color of stones

I used to skip on on family trips

to national parks,

ones faded by rushing brooks

and the passage of time.

Blue is the color found in marbles

which used to behold my gaze

and leave me in awe

when I was grade school.

Blue is the backdrop of the screensaver

on my computer

in front of which I sit for 8~10 hours a day,

sometimes.

Blue is one of the colors

on the French national flag

(le drapeau français)

for one of my favorite countries -

a Francophile comme moi.

Blue is the color of my

favorite popsicle.

Blue is the hue du jour

on my favorite kpop singer JJK.

Blue is the sensation I feel

when I am with him

and I am holding him,

and he is holding me.

Blue is the feeling invoked by

my halmoni in Korea -

cool and inviting.

Monochromatic blue is the dominant theme

in Picasso's "Old Guitarist."

Blue is the color of

dragonflies that

used to roam

the neighborhood of

the high-rise apartments

where I grew up.

Blue is the color

of angelfish trapped

in uncleaned aquariums

in local pet-stores

whom I want to

rescue - all of them.

Blue in "bluejay" is the color of a species

of a large songbird

that make hawk-like sounds

and hop around in the summer.

Blue is the blissful feel of summer

from June to September

here in perennial Chicago.

Blue is the color of healing.

Crystalline blue is the color of bada (sea)

to which I love to venture out

and dip my little toes.

Light blue is the color of the seas

in Helen Frankenthaler's Mountains and Seas (1952) -

the product of the artist's "light touch."

Blue is the color of this planet,

beautiful and broken,

as seen from outer space.

Blue is the color of innocence

of my youth.

Blue is the color of

the eternity of time.

Blue is the color of the fake butterfly

tattoo I am contemplating getting.

Blue is the color and sound

of my soul.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.