Poets logo

Samulnori beats

My iteration (jae chang-jo) of a Yongnam Nongak (kil kunak)

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image of Korean fusion group with poongmul influence

1. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards a better future

where the sins and stains of others

will be atoned for;

2. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heat beats towards the fusion

of the old and new

in me and in this world,

making this world a little better

than it was yesterday;

3. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

the unification of the divided peninsula,

birthing one land, one people;

4. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

a new narrative;

5. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards a future

where justice can be achieved

for women who seek it;

6. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards the building

of sisters and allies

who can lift each other up;

7. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

peace and wholeness

in my own family;

8. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

the day when I can enjoy

the lifelong companion of books;

9. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

the day when peace marks

the horizon, not war;

10. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

the day when my voice

can bring others hope

11. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

the making of new music

12. Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

my heart beats towards

the rhythm of new love

based on honesty and transparency

Tong

Kung

Dda

Kung

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.