Poets logo

Memorial

Hope is Defiant

By Poetry LandscapesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Memorial
Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

When I go back

to that time and space,

I feel the texture

of the experience

so vividly. My imagination,

is triggered.

.

A picture is painted

containing the both

of our memories,

dreams, inflection points

of experience.

.

I want to go

and share

in the space

we breathed.

.

Do it different.

.

--

.

She loves to help

dad play video games,

go on walks

With our resident

Goddess, Mara dog.

.

Our trips to the playground

vibrate through

my years,

and bring out

the best of what's

left of me. We play

so hard,

.

Ponderosa Park will

never forget

how hard we hit

that playground.

.

Our relational energy

will never dissipate

from these baptismal

points of life.

.

Our love

will breath there,

in these moments

forever.

.

--

.

I see those days

back then. The early days

of our lives, what we took

for love.

.

I breathe the same

metaphorical air.

The memories,

feeling of the laminate

floor and carpet,

the billiards table,

the poker machines

rattling off. Always

extra lucky.

.

Old friends

serving drinks

and the best

food in town.

.

It is hard to think

anything was ever wrong.

.

--

.

I travel back to the future,

here today.

.

I see the grave

.

in my mind. I am standing

in front of it. I feel

my spirit desacrating

the stone,

.

with all my power,

all my love,

all my strength,

.

so no record

of his life ever existed.

Except for the legacy

of the life

of his beautiful

daughter.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Poetry Landscapes

We are a poet influenced by Charles Bukowski, and Button poets such as Anis Mojgani, Neil Hilborn and Andrea Gibson. He follows the outlaw style and utilizes surrealist landscapes. Find more at https://poetrylandscapes.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.