Poets logo

Melancholy

A Longing

By Gabriel DentlerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

This life reflects a long dead home,

The creaking door, my weary bones,

And memories I hold inside,

Tilting pictures cast aside.

In darkened halls I stride in pain,

As lifeblood to these withering veins,

And deep beneath in basement dark,

A cold and black and lonely heart.

Ghosts still haunt the empty rooms,

Of friends and family gone too soon,

And verily I long to leave,

To none though do I have to flee.

And long shall I be wandering,

Now weeping, then seeking, and pondering,

If one exists to ease the pain,

The rain begins, it rains again.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Gabriel Dentler

I have 4 loves. I love my God. I love words. I love mystery. I love suspense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.