Poets logo

Desperation

Love and Loss

By Gabriel DentlerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My fault, my love, I led you there,

No longer shall I see you where,

We danced upon the river's edge,

The night we laughed and loved and pledged,

That I should wed this august daughter,

And we should hold our tryst no longer,

Instead you perished and left this pauper,

To laugh no more and grieve much harder,

And I tell you love, be I no martyr,

I'm coming soon to be with you under the water.

'Neath Adam's Ale she waits for me,

She feels my tears and hears my plea,

That I should be alone no longer,

Crippled by the way I wronged her,

So I tell you love, be I no martyr,

I'm coming soon to be with you under the water.

And I yearn for her grace,

And I long for her face,

So I promise love, be I no martyr,

I'm coming so soon to be with you under the water.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gabriel Dentler

I have 4 loves. I love my God. I love words. I love mystery. I love suspense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.