Poets logo

Meeting full face on dark mornings

A final villanelle, under the fobbed, impendent belly of Time.

By Hannah MoorePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
16
Meeting full face on dark mornings
Photo by Akram Huseyn on Unsplash

Half of life gone, and half still oncoming?

I flail between youth and old age,

I make my choice, I have to keep running.

Towards or away? Please heart, keep drumming,

There’s too much and never enough,

Half of life gone, and half still oncoming?

Some mornings dawn grey, some rise up stunning,

Whether met with joy or with dread,

I make my choice, I have to keep running.

One moment up, the next I’m succumbing,

To fear that I’ve used up my luck.

Half of life gone, and half still oncoming?

I throw myself in, purpose is numbing,

Pace wisely, I’m trying to last,

I make my choice, I have to keep running.

I know in my heart, I’m still becoming,

More than I was yesterday,

Half of life gone, and half still oncoming?

I make my choice, I have to keep running.

Villanelle
16

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    You've nailed this challenge. You've picked the perfect lines to repeat throughout - that's the bit I always struggle the most with.

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I feel the same way, only worse. Oh dear, some days I feel ok if the new half comes a'visiting. But, hopefully it stays on vacation. Lovely sad great poetry.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Love the feel of this one. Optimistic yet grounded. Excellent

  • This was great. I read so many of my own thoughts in the lines

  • Great job, Hannah. I love how introspective this villanelle is. You went deep into you thoughts and produced a great poem.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Well now. When you said you had done another one...the way you said it was like you hadn't put it forward. There is so much truth in this. Age and time. Two things it feels like we never have enough of. We keep going because the alternative is...well not worth thinking about. Awesome job, Hannah!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    That's all you can do. Keep calm and carry on. Age is just a number but I wish my body wasn't so numerically conscious. And the best is yet to come, I think.

  • But don't forget to pause and take in the moment sometimes while running. Loved your Villanelle!

  • Loved this... sadly I remain oblivious of the finer points of Villanelle poems, but this read so smoothly & what a theme. Great conclusion: "I know in my heart, I’m still becoming, More than I was yesterday, Half of life gone, and half still oncoming? I make my choice, I have to keep running." As I aim to make the Guinness world records & live at least to the age of 122... my life is right at the mid-line!!.. still coming, I'll keep running.

  • Kodah5 months ago

    Fantastic Hannah! Loved this💕

  • Gina C.5 months ago

    Oh, wow, I really love this, Hannah! Amazing work. Flows like a dream!

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    This is an exceptional poem in terms of both form and content. I stumbled over the phrase "purpose is numbing," then returned to palpate it more carefully and discover a vibrant truth. When we have a purpose in mind, we really are numbed to the thorny obstacles between us and its achievement. Thank you for this insight.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.