Poets logo

Scream if you want to go faster!

A villanelle

By Hannah MoorePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
19
Scream if you want to go faster!
Photo by Matt Bowden on Unsplash

Just hold on tight, feel the whole crazy ride,

Fast bits and curves, trudging ups, hell-bent downs,

Face into the wind, and know that you tried.

*

Sure, you can skip it, sit side-line and bide,

You’ll still hear the screams, and some are delight.

Just hold on tight, feel the whole crazy ride.

*

They said it was easy? I tell you they lied.

Ease grants you existence, hard earns you life.

Face into the wind, and know that you tried.

*

Some parts are bumpy, and sometimes you’ll glide,

All will whip past you, so don’t close your eyes.

Just hold on tight, feel the whole crazy ride.

*

Look out with wonder, the vista is wide,

Oceans and mountains, with treasures to find.

Face into the wind, and know that you tried.

*

So jump in today, you can’t once you’ve died,

Sing sad songs and happy, laugh, rage and cry,

Just hold on tight, feel the whole crazy ride,

Face into the wind, and know that you tried.

inspirational
19

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Love your inspirational Villanelle poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    This is my favourite thing I've read all day, perfect 😁

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Ease grants you existence, hard earns you life. I never opt for easy, so boring. Yet hard is not an easy road. Maybe somewhere in between would be perfect. Though it is also said that lukewarm is hated most of all. Lots to think about here.

  • I loved this... I also agree with JBaz... roller coaster rides are fun, however my neck might not thank me for the experience these days. Wonderful positive last stanza!

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Yes! Reads like a call to arms framed by the whole life is a roller coaster maxim. A villanelle is a perfect structure for this. Not sure how I missed... christmassing (to steal.your word). Bingo. Love it. This hits a home run.

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    I thought this was going to be about a roller coaster, literally. Lol, I understood through the underlying message it wasn't, but it still could be applied (implied?). Anyway! Clever, and a great message. It certainly resonated with me.

  • This was very positive. Makes me feel like we shouldn't be too hard on ourselves. Loved your Villanelle!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Ups and downs all the time... The line that gets me is 'Face into the wind, and you know that you tried.' Excellent!!!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    haha...this is full of truth and written so delightfully. Another sterling addition to your collection, Ms Moore! Loved it and it was nice that you managed to find a more upbeat theme and tone!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    lovely, hannah

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Oh, this is wonderful. Well done.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I know metaphor for life, but I’ll show this to my wife so she will want to join me on rides. 😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.