Poets logo

Meet Me Halfway

The story of a princess who wouldn't settle for anything less.

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

He calls to me and says “Let down that gorgeous hair of yours,

So I may climb your tower

And get to know you.”

I hesitantly nod and begin to unravel my hair, when it hits me.

Haven’t I done this before?

Let someone inside, too soon…..?

So, I put my hair back, and I bargain.

“I will let down my hair IF, and only IF you can get half-way up.

Then, and ONLY then, will you be able to climb my hair

Up to meet me.”

This mysterious man pauses for a minute,

Ponders.

Caressing his chin.

“I’ll do it.” He says.

So I lean on my window sill,

And sit back

And watch

As this mysterious man begins his journey

Of getting to really know me.

And I him.

As he climbs

I ask him many questions,

As he does me.

This process takes some time.

Because my tower isn’t

Well…

It isn’t very easy to climb.

There’s some Rose Bushes with some thorns,

And occasionally hidden barricades

That he didn’t expect.

This time, the princess that I am,

I decide I am worth someone

Who is willing to put in true effort

To be my prince.

But make no mistake.

Once he reaches me,

I will not simply be whisked away.

Because I require more than an hour and a day

To fall in love.

He will have to do more than climb

My tower.

I am a princess rich in time and investment

And I don't just give it

To any soul.

His time and investment

Will be his dowry.

Because my riches will not be wasted.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.