Poets logo

It's Hard Because I Can't Settle

No matter how hard, I refuse to settle.

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Made a few hops, skips, and jumps to the places I thought were meant for me...

But...

I'm trying and it's complicated....

Or maybe it's complicated because I make it that way?

See,

I've been through so much shit.

Gosh I've been knee deep in just shit.

I can't give-up now.

I've come too far.

I can't give into complacency.

I mean, I could.

I very well could.

But I won't.

As good as it sounds

To just quit.

I can't.

This world wants me to be mediocre.

They say they want me to be great.

But unless I give the world what they want,

They just want me to be mediocre.

Well no.

I can't just go with your status quo.

Because I decide my own fate.

And my fate is that I am destined for great things.

So, no.

I won't settle.

Not for anything less than what I'm worth.

Because I have come too far to just settle,

To just quit.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.