Poets logo

Me-dia Talk

from an Introvert

By Shirley BelkPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
P.S. I love reading your texts, e-mails, & Comments

Once again, I crawl into the keyboard and pour out my screams

I peck at the moments, the voices, and hide all my dreams.

Perhaps no one is listening but by chance, maybe they are

I prefer strangers to listen rather than neighbors, by far.

Call me an intro instead of an extro, I've not always been shy

The years have surmounted, and the plans gone awry.

There's not time to spare, no time to waste

I type and time-travel the decades with haste.

My voice demands that my fingers do type

I do still prefer prose rather than Skype.

Hope I don't bore you or put you off in some way

I enjoy immensely the time we spend chatting each day.

social commentary

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I found this very relatable and I think it's a trait we writers and poets share, to varying degrees, of course. It's pretty pronounced in my case - I spend my days in the writing room. I'll interact socially, but I prefer small groups - mostly. I did, for a while, head up a group of 20 -30 artists that met once per week for breakast, but even that would sort itself into smaller discussions. I have taught, as well and given presentations, but I carefully prepare for those occasions. I like to think that I put much of the real me "on paper" - but not too much. 😁

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi 's' ~ Sorry to disturb on a fur baby snuggle Sunday. Just want to say I've shown your marvelous 'Three Minutes' around - kindabraggadocioish - and they all (mix of very different friends) say, now "Who's the Introvert here?" Ha! Please do make some notes - I am and find a way to compare them: we really could do this right and Terrilynn already has ideas on what to paint the heading; you've seen her incredible work. I've written entire stories around her paintings - including one you just read 'Circles' - Snuggle-Out - 'j'

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Loved this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I feel ya♥️📝💯😉✌️

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Surely-Shirley not-so an introvert no-mo among we extroverts. You Me-dia us through your 'Alter Ego' out of the keys with your Corgi at your feet for support. - How fun is this - j-bud

  • This was soooo relatable! Loved your poem!

Shirley BelkWritten by Shirley Belk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.