Poets logo

Maybe He's a Hero

A love poem

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Art by Myz Artist Todd Myzia

The sky seems to be falling, yet in my weakest voice

I still keep calling. I’m calling, I’m trying,

I’m no longer denying that ashes from the fires of

agony untold are still choking me, holding me, while giving me

Love.

This love is a comfort I’ve known before, ripping

me

to

shreds

as I cry and I gasp for more, and more.

But now, I let go, for a free-fall to take me

home...

and I land, in his hands, a hero so grand,

this man who just smiled as he helped me to stand.

Then he took me along and said, “Never look back.”

And never did I, as my love chose my path.

We journeyed and spoke and oh, how we laughed.

We laughed with a joy from that heart untold,

one I’m unsure I had known before.

I traveled from the flames of Hell itself,

leaving behind idealized fantasies of my demise for all of my crimes.

I apologized but I deserve more than meets these

two brown eyes.

The sky is no longer falling.

In my strongest voice, I’m calling, I’m reaching,

I’m asking my love to come for me.

I’m asking for Love.

As promised, as always, forever no doubt,

he stands before me like a gift from the clouds.

As I fight for my breath and tilt my head down,

he tilts his head down to raise mine above.

“My love, my love,” he shakes his head no.

“There’s no looking down, for it is up that we grow.”

love poems
4

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.