Poets logo

You

My Heart's Glowing Light

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
You
Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

There's this way you look when you're telling a story, there's a comfort in your eyes that I see so plainly.

When you stand in the door and my head tips back so far to meet your lips, it's one of those rom-com moments like a chuckle with a kiss.

You are bliss, my beloved, I could make a list for every reason why you're the one and how I know this but I could never explain how it feels when we kiss.

It mattered little---how far I'd have to go--- because I knew my best future awaited.

We lived one life, now we live another, the most beautiful example of love and passion.

When leaving behind something comforting, known, you're lost asking so many questions. Facing so many unknowns.

My love has always had all the answers, you know, he's wise beyond me and has so much more that he wants me to see.

And for that, I feel free.

For the burden of choice lies heavily on me so frequently that even I don't know what's right for me.

I can listen and learn, vibe and grow, find who I am and be who I am because he knows who I am.

And who I am is worthy, she earned it,

she absolutely deserves it.

She fought and she won and her prize has only just begun, being given a good man who wants not one single other.

Whose eyes never wander, never wanted for better,

knowing her heart has what's missing from his.

Knowing better, growing brighter, finding life in my confidence, can't say he didn't help me become a winner. I could go on forever.

For years this life was a dream, a scheme, something I'd never see. Never held onto a single thing before, never let myself fantasize anymore, yet here I am, at Heaven's door.

We probably rushed this love, rushed our process, but it's been worth every minute. Everything we do, it's tribute to living and living it our way has been our way since the very first day.

Through a series of defiance and giant disregard for what anyone dreamed we'd live and grow apart, we showed them and told them that we are one another's hearts. We've bonded from the start, been drawn in by the song of the lark.

There is no way this wasn't by fate, for my heart's not been capable of leaving the dark without his light shining from above like a diety guiding his subject the right way.

This love we share has been complex, and at times it made me question who I am. What I come to realize is that there was never a plan.

Not once, to begin with, did I believe I'd be who I wanted to be.

It took you coming along for me to be free.

I'm here, living dreams, loving life, loving you. I'm so thankful I did this, for nothing is better, not even the view.

I do love you with all my heart.

My love, you're an ever present spark

to show me I'm safe even in the dark.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.