Poets logo

Mary's Lament

An abecedarian poem

By Suze KayPublished 4 months ago β€’ Updated 4 months ago β€’ 1 min read
23
Image made with Midjourney

Always on the road, sloughing off the remains of

Bethlehem behind me. It was there I bore the

Child. It was there I ascended

Divine, with blood and hay beneath me,

Even as the star grew brighter. Who did I do this

For? And who did it to me, filled me with a

Grim determination to save a people who didn't ask for

Help.

//

I held him in my womb, my arms, my lap. My

Jesus, for whom they offered gold, then silver, as if it were an even trade. I

Kissed his brow first. I screamed into the sky with lowing cows and

Licked salt from his face on that horrid, skull-filled

Mountain, and then the book moved on. Oh, they sing my

Name in vaulted places. They praise the canal that

Opened for God. But few have asked for what I

Prayed, when swollen with questions, I walked away.

//

Queen of sorrows. Queen of

Regrets, forgotten in the

Sand. Even my son, when he left his

Tomb, did not come to soothe me. I, the

Unwed Mother, of whom was asked so much. I, the

Virgin spoiled by grace, just a vessel

Wrought in marble at my lowest. Never to become a crone.

//

Xanthic skin, lost in paint that washed away. I wish

You would remember me as I was: a woman who reached the

Zenith long before her walk was done.

Free Versesad poetry
23

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    This was a brilliant, thought-provoking, emotional read. My favourite line would be β€œfor whom they offered gold, then silver, as if it were an even trade”, because its subtle enough to miss, but is such a great comparison of the two moments at the birth and death of Jesus, and I’ve never thought about it that way before! Love how you took a familiar story and created a new narrative. Amazing πŸ‘

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    You tell an interesting story.

  • Sandra Matos4 months ago

    This is excellent! Your writing is precise in its ability to give a message that has the ability to evoke strong feelings. I'm so happy that I stumbled upon this.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Awesome!!!πŸ’•β™₯️β™₯️

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    😱 That was phenomenal! Congrats on your Honorable Mention!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Mary endured...

  • Powerful insights into one we normally picture in beatific blue with a halo over her head & tender love in her eyes, but whose life was hard & heart was crushed.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    This is so beautiful and powerful. I especially love β€œXanthic skin, lost in paint that washed away.” People don’t often bother to think of Mary’s perspective, and I think that’s a shame. Well done.

  • Gosh, this was so intense and poignant! It had a smooth flow to it! Loved your poem!

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    This was lovely. I almost used Zenith for mine but found a better fitting word

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    This is great. Has almost a rap like flow, way I read it. <3

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    I’m not religious at all Suze, but I still felt beauty of this poem. So well done, you made the challenge look easy

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Oh my. Full marks. So good, the constraints feel like underscores.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Ih my, that was amazing. Well done.

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer4 months ago

    I love it. The bit that sticks is that anyone could be "spoilt" by grace (love, sex, becoming a mother). It's jarring to me, and I'm not sure if I like it, but I'm also completely sure you intended that discomfort and I can only tip my hat to how cleverly you wrought it, with a surgeon's precision 😁

  • Test4 months ago

    great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.