Poets logo

Marshmallow Blizzard

Poem - 017

By Kaliyah MyersPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2022
43
Created By Kaliyah Myers

Poem - 017, Marshmallow Blizzard

We stood in the blizzard together,

Our half lanterns beaten by the weather.

Your ember was just a flicker,

My ember felt even littler…

But standing by you,

I could feel the warmth it once gave.

We’ll hideout here in a cave…

As I connect my half to yours,

The lanterns unite as one and the flame-

It grows and not in vain.

Fear tells me that glass will soon shatter.

But seeing you tells me that doesnt matter.

Your goofy smile…

A distraction from the long, cold, while.

The small white pillow you placed on a stick,

Burning the sugar over the flame like a wick.

Trying it, I couldn't help but think about it…

Just how well we seem to stick.

- Kaliyah Myers, a Poem to a soon to be book named, The Mad Project

Thank you for taking the time to give this a read! Any and all feedback is highly appreciated and if you would please, drop a like and a follow! If you comment, I'll be able to see you and do the same in return! Thank you, Thank you! See you all another time!

love poems
43

About the Creator

Kaliyah Myers

"Change is imperative. But the kind of change is the most important detail."

In being a writer, I hope to share something relatable and adventurous that you can love too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Beth Fryabout a year ago

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Love!!!!!!!!!

  • Victoria Riveraabout a year ago

    What a beautiful poem! And now I want a s’more, preferably away from a storm haha

  • Jenny Thompsonabout a year ago

    Cute and sweet rhymes, you've got such a knack for creating imagery with your words. Just change "in vein" to "in vain" for spelling purposes. But I love the ooey gooey nature of this read!

  • Nithin9786about a year ago

    good story

  • Dee Simoneabout a year ago

    I love it and I love the way the marshmallows are described as "small white pillows" too - fab!

  • Christopher Donovanabout a year ago

    I loved this - resonated deeply and really evoked so many sensations of what ‘love’ can feel like. X

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Very romantic and the rhyme is really catchy.

  • Doc Sherwoodabout a year ago

    Really lovely. Was it by any chance inspired in part by the animated movie "Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return?" The marshmallow love scene (and accompanying song!) helped me through some hard times, over a girl from Wisconsin in fact so I guess she knew all about blizzards! This poem really brought back to me that year in my life, and long ago as it was (2014) it was like living it again. Thank you for that experience! I'm sure others reading your poem will likewise remember something happy - or maybe I should say, something sweet!

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    I see why you got a top story from this. It's fantastic work.

  • Blake O'Connorabout a year ago

    Reminds me of romantic walks in Central Park during the winter.

  • Jess B.about a year ago

    This is so dreamy! I love it!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Love and addiction - One and the same.Great poem.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is so marshmallowy sweet! Well done.:)

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    hearted and subscribed

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Very sweet and romantic

  • Marcia Millinerabout a year ago

    👍🏾

  • Mary Haynesabout a year ago

    Fabulous title! I HAD to read it. Nice imagery.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Beautiful

  • Lynwood Christoabout a year ago

    This is incredible! You are such a talented writer! I love this 🥺🥰

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!! This really was a whole beautiful experience. Your title was very catchy, the picture paired with it so nicely, and the poetry itself was lovely. Great work!!

  • AngelBeeabout a year ago

    This poem is beautiful. It's so sweet and the narrative is very descriptive. Creating the instinct feeling of love. -Angel Blade

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    Brilliant and well-written. I love the fun expression of creative writing in poetry that rhymes (which is my favorite kind!). And I am the first to comment on your TOP STORY. Congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.