Poets logo

makeup

(fix my heart)

By Sara Published 9 months ago 1 min read
makeup
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

every morning

i smear my lips

with blood

and my cheeks

with powder

and put on the face

in the mirror

that will take on

the world.

sometimes i take chains

with me

or leather

to hide my heart

cuz they say it’s

rough out there.

other days i hide

because i do not

want eyes

on my body

because it’s only

part of

me.

i spend too many minutes

examining my skin

counting my pores

and I feel like

hair and waist and eyes

with no soul.

i want the prettiest

part of my body

to be my heart

so why do i

never tuck it neatly

in the corners

and fix its little scars.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Okay that question hit me so hard! Gosh I don't know the answer to that! I gotta start doing that!

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.