Poets logo

Main Street (POEM)

A reflection of what can be possible when you start to put yourself first.

By Jesus Eduardo Lopez AlvarezPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Main Street (POEM)
Photo by Samy Saadi on Unsplash

One heartbroken spring I found myself running away from home,

hoping to find some flowers and a mirror to relinquish my sorrow.

Earlier that winter, the snowless, bare trees and its gray tint that

seemed to cover virtually everything had found me lost in Main Street

and my body ached to the bruises from my past suitor.

My chest and arms, blue and purple, reminded me of the sunsets

back in Caracas, back when I looked out the window in between

the steel bars and dreamed of the day in which I could finally be free,

back when I walked through Main Street and didn’t feel nearly as

empty, cold, or nostalgic.

As I looked around me, realizing I wasn’t walking over gray

concrete anymore, but brown, dead leaves; a figure in the distance

invited me deeper within the bare oak trees.

I rushed into it, jumping over twigs, trying to reach the queer, puzzling

figure and getting deeper and further into the forest to a point of no return.

As he stopped, I finally got closer and took in the landscape,

strands of gold for hair, his eyes, a reflection of the Caribbean Sea

and his hands, shiny, soft and delicate like silk. He slowly reached for a key and

as he opened the door to an inconspicuous greenhouse,

for the very first time everything seemed to fracture into color, inside, lavender,

jasmine, rose, cacti, and other beings sprawled across

the floor and ceiling, growing in every little crevice.

He reached for the cacti, tightly held my hand and placed a small magenta flower that soon started to extend offshoots on both of our arms and eventually joined us into one being.

I looked at his eyes and when I saw myself in the reflection I said:

“I did it. I’m finally free”.

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Jesus Eduardo Lopez Alvarez

This is kind of my personal diary, writing things in times of despair or awe :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Abril Lopez6 months ago

    <3 holis jesus

Jesus Eduardo Lopez AlvarezWritten by Jesus Eduardo Lopez Alvarez

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.