Poets logo

Made With Love

Name Your Poison

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
11
Made With Love
Photo by Ashwini Chaudhary(Monty) on Unsplash

Daddy, may I please have more

coin sized pancakes and can I pour

That homemade maple syrup

the neighbor made, letting us help

And if you’re frying any more

could you make some potatoes and corn

Into those fritters we adore

until I can’t eat anymore

Because no one makes them like you do

it’s now become my favorite food

They’re made with love, by daddy's hands

answering his baby girls commands

And if by chance, there’s something left

I’ll dab the remnants up myself

I’ll help put the dishes on the shelf

saving memories of how happy smelled

surreal poetrylove poemsFamilyfact or fiction
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)about a month ago

    I love it! BEST! 😊💯❤️

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    That last line hit me so hard 🥺 Loved your poem!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    love!!!

  • Mmmm, pancakes. Corn & potato fritters I met only later, but they're good, too. Tasty memories.

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatárabout a month ago

    "saving memories of how happy smelled" aww I hope my kids will think this way also later on.. I really feel like cooking for them and creating tasty memories like this too. I loved loved your poem! So relatable!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Beautiful, the bonding of a father and daughter over a yummy pancake snack 🥰

  • Donna Reneeabout a month ago

    This made me so emotional 🥹

  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    Got my taste bud going oh yeah - now i want pikelets!

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    Yummy 😋♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.