Poets logo

Made//Unmade

On the power of creation

By Suze KayPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
The Blue Mustang statue at Denver Airport, which killed its maker, Luis Jiménez

Everything I make destroys me

on the look back. I erase myself

like the dot of an i. I forget how it felt

to shiver in the rewrite, to blink

and find the sun is set. I'm sitting in the dark.

//

In Denver, there stands a horse. He's taller

than the planes he beckons. He was drafted

in a barn, first, then cast into the world. His maker

must have shivered in the hay. He must have known

the head would fall, that he would bleed.

//

My words aren't tall, but they weigh heavy. They feel

sharp. I linger on them far too long and pretend

I'm someone else. Are they worth it? Do they still

land? If the sculptor, limping past the city's deadline,

had just left the horse unfinished, maybe he could tell me.

___________________

Truth is stranger than fiction. The story of Blue Mustang's creation is nearly as odd as the sculpture itself, and is well worth reading about in detail here.

Long story short: Luis Jiménez was commissioned to develop a monument for Denver International Airport. He modeled a 32' tall horse after his own Appaloosa, Blackjack, purchased once he felt he'd succeeded as an artist. In the process of making Blue Mustang, now affectionately named "Blucifer" by locals, he suffered health problems that delayed the project's completion. He was sued by the city, he countersued, and mediation determined he must finish the sculpture.

A large piece fell and severed an artery in Jiménez's leg. He bled to death on his studio floor.

Free Versefact or fictionart
8

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    A powerful poem based on a shocking story! A sculptor slain by his sculpture?!? Extraordinary!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Fascinating history interwoven in a very relevant poem! This is excellent!

  • A mile high plus thirty-two feet. Which piece & does it retain the pound of flesh it exacted?

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I forget how it felt to shiver in the rewrite, to blink and find the sun is set. I'm sitting in the dark. I love your writing, Suze, but I confess that the question undergirding this story is daunting, perhaps even terrifying. How much of oneself is required for the artist to sacrifice to her/his art! I wondered this earlier today as I read a separate writer's story and now you have raised the question again. Twice in the same day! And God help me, I can't help but wonder if every minute, every hour, all the weeks and months and years that I have labored over my own stories is worth all the sweat and the tears. And I have no answer except that I don't see me stopping. Ever.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    What a story! And what a question too. Very good.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Oh, me likey this...so much depth...and thank you for drawing my/our attention to the piece of art! Love this Suze!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.