Poets logo

Maddie Johnson

Fireflies

By something wildePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You are my summer night. Having you in my life is what it feels like to breathe, be sedentary and happy just where you are. You are what it feels like to have endless possibilities and expectations for the future. You are The Valley’s peace.

I’m thankful for peaceful things. I’m hopelessly attached to calming things and restful places, people that feel like home. I’m thankful for embers in a blazing fire, when it’s mid summer and the only thing you can think about is what comes next and how happy you are to get there.

You are what it means to feel the wind between your fingers. You are an endless season. You are the snowflakes in the winter, the flowers in spring, the heat of the summer, and the changing leaves of the fall. You are what encompasses everything. You are an essence of all things.

You are the firefly that glows in a humid nighttime. You are what people chase after when they search endlessly for a light that glows just enough to guide them home.

Thank you for sticking around. I’m positive it wasn’t easy, but you decided that I was worth it. Thank you for your smile, its bright and relentless and undoubtedly one of my favorite things.

Thank you for bringing peace into my life, Lord knows I need it. I’m not sure what I’d do without your spirit. That’s definitely a day that I don’t wish to see.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

something wilde

wilde is the child ♡

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.