Poets logo

Lunar Eclipse

A Dance Of Surrender

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Lunar Eclipse
Photo by Vincenzo Malagoli on Unsplash

the sun gives way to the pull of the moon,

eclipsed by the weight of the clouds.

never before seen, the freedom of gloom,

like a corpse held inside of its shroud.

the dance of manumit unbound waves of surrender,

shedding light, like an old pair of shoes.

oh, the release, from a spell they were under,

somber greens mix with dark shades of blue.

the luminous stars, brightly - dance and sway,

while the penumbral moons eyes are veiled.

the graceful, fluid steps of a theatrical ballet,

the universe, enamored, inhaled.

once awakened from the veiled illusions,

the moon gently adjusts it's rays.

bringing the eclipse to a bewitching conclusion,

leaving us speechless and preserved in a gaze.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Such a haunting description of that dusky, pumpkin moon found only in the total lunar eclipse. I once got to observe one in my rear view mirror as I drove across South Dakota to the Black Hills. It was incredible. I just have to tell you, we were in St. Louis this past week for our biennial family get together. I kept seeing you all over the place. (In other words, I kept seeing blonde women with sunglasses, lol.) Once you were walking slowly with a friend, using a cane.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    You get all the rounds of applause for this one, Kelli. All of them. All. of. Them!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Well- this was lovely and I also had to look up 'manumit'. Vocal creators are truly driving me to increase my vocabulary!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.