Poets logo

Loving You

A man always says the wrong thing

By Niall James BradleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Hannah Skelly on Unsplash

Do not always assume that people see you as you see yourself.

Loving you

He said, “I love you.”

She said, “How can you

when I am so fat and ugly?”

So he looked at her,

larger than when they’d first met,

with her caesarean scar

but his eyes could only see

the girl on that hillside,

her party black dress,

the comfort of her arms.

He said, “I still love you.”

She said, “How can you

when I moan all the time?”

So he listened to her voice

The voice that reminded him,

daily, of how useless he truly was

but in its cadence, he heard woven

the joy of her song

and her whispered romance.

He said, “I do love you.”

She said, “How can you

when I am so old?”

He just looked at her,

the girl, the lover, the bride, the mother

and instantly knew the answer:

“Because I grew old with you,

because I grew old, loving you.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Niall James Bradley

I am a teacher who lives in the north west of England. I write about many subjects, but mainly I write non-fiction about things that interest me, fiction about what comes into my head and poetry about how I feel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.