Poets logo

Morning Respite

Scene from a marriage

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 days ago 1 min read
6
Author’s photo

Last night was difficult :

where-is-sleep/ where-is-rest?

Frequent waking, stumbling through the house.

Just one more sip of water and I can sleep=wishful thinking.

Shaky and fretful I sat at the table and tearfully told him that I am not unhappy just sad and overwhelmed.

These are the dreams I had-

These are the people that came to visit me in my sleep-

These are the questions that wake me shaking and trembling-

These are the thoughts I cannot shake.

A kiss,

A nod,

A cup of coffee,

A slice of toast and egg scramble.

Acceptance.

He knows me.

He is not surprised.

He loves me.

And as the sun peeked out and I heard tweets and warbles from birds at the feeder,

I thought of a prayer learned long ago.

I offered it as my blessing before eating.

(Let me come to You as a child today, Lord, carrying the things too heavy to bear along with my gratitude for all that you have given us)

‘Thank you for the world so sweet-

Thank you for the food we eat.

Thank you for the birds that sing.

Thank you, God, for everything’

inspirationalGratitudeFree Verse
6

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 days ago

    You wrought out emotions in me I thought hidden. What a beautifully written poem that holds hope when we feel there is none.

  • The Dani Writer8 days ago

    I got this, and I'm so glad you wrote it. Poems like this are the warm lights at night, silently beaming a message of "Me too."

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 days ago

    This is so beautiful, relatable and heartwarming in the sense that I'm happy to not be alone!! Great work Judey!!

  • Shirley Belk9 days ago

    Judey, I needed to hear this....just having my morning cup of tea and it was the first thing I read. Lovely

  • There is always, always something to be grateful for. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.