Poets logo

Loving is in The Knowing

How a woman wants her man to love her

By Lynda CokerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Image by Jerzy Górecki from Pixabay

Only one life, that soon is past. Only what’s done with love will last. ~Unknown

If I were a thought

I'd wander ever so slowly

Through shadow and sunlight

Tracing out the patterns and

Subtleties of your mind

If I were a breeze

I'd slide softly against your cheek

Lifting the tresses on your nape

To imprint my touch

And claim the essence of your being

If I were starlight

I'd fall from the heavens 

To shine forever in your eyes 

And guard my reflection there

Peering at the world with you

If I were your heartbeat

I'd treasure the rhythm of your soul

Protect the fragile beauty within

Measure the moment when

You allow my love there to grow

If I were an eternity

I'd keep you forever in my embrace

And count time unceasing

By your smiles so freely given

By your laughter genuinely driven

If I were your man

I'd spend each day in search

To know your mystery and allure

I'd find each portal and door

So that I could love you more

_____________________

Originally published here

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lynda Coker

Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.