Poets logo

Loving Her Through The Night

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Loving Her Through The Night
Photo by Caio Silva on Unsplash

I can still taste tequila,

as I think of her kiss.

And these goosebumps on my skin,

remind me of her dancing fingertips.

She had a way of holding me,

that made me feel alive.

But I haven't felt that way,

for a long long time.

I remember the days,

when she was my best friend.

And I remember the nights,

I prayed would never end.

There was nothing I wouldn't give her,

she had her hands on my heart.

she believed in my dreams,

that's why she had to tear us apart.

She was my wild and innocent,

a beauty beyond words.

She was my calm and passionate,

the one who changed my whole world.

She gave up her everything,

for the man that I am.

I left her with nothing,

except my heart in her hands.

If only I could have her back again,

there's nothing we couldn't do.

I'd wash away her pain,

and love her the whole night through.

I still see her every night,

smiling through the crowd.

She disappears out of sight,

before I can catch her eye.

I watch her down that tequila,

trying to drown a memory.

I wonder if I should tell her,

it'll never make her forget about me.

Cuz what we had,

can never go away.

And what we once were,

is the kind of love that stays.

It might be years,

since I last held her tight.

But it won't be long,

til I'm loving her through the night.

She was my wild and innocent,

a beauty beyond words,

and I was a fool,

to let go of her.

She was my calm and passionate,

the one who changed my whole world,

how could I be so blind,

and not see that I needed her.

She gave up her everything,

for the man that I am,

now I want to give her everything,

and be her only man.

I left her with nothing,

except my heart in her hands,

wanting her to hold it tight,

helping me to stand,

as I love her through the night.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.